Six faculty members honored for ‘transformational’ classroom instruction

Article and photo courtesy of YaleNews.

Students who nominated the six Yale faculty members awarded this year’s Yale College teaching prizes on May 5 used many different adjectives to praise their instructors. But there was one overarching theme in their comments: All of the prizewinners were credited with being “transformational” in their students’ lives — in the classroom and beyond.

The prize-winning teachers are Stephanie Newell, who won the Sidonie Miskimin Clauss Prize for teaching excellence in the humanities; Marla Geha, who was presented the Dylan Hixon ’88 Prize for teaching excellence in the natural sciences; Woo-kyoung Ahn, who won the Lex Hixon ’63 Prize for teaching excellence in the social sciences; Karin Roffman and Quan Tran, who were both awarded the Richard H. Brodhead ’68 Prize for teaching excellence by non-ladder faculty; and Kenneth Winkler, who was honored with the Harwood F. Byrnes/Richard B. Sewall Teaching Prize, given to a faculty member who “over a long period of service has inspired a great number of students and consistently fostered the learning process both inside and outside the classroom.” (continued)

Click here to read the full article about WSP board member, Marla Geha.